House and Pet Sitting

We look after your home and pets as if they were our own

Hi there, are you looking for a house / pet sitter? Look no further.

 

We are Paul and Sandra, a reliable and organised 40+ year old couple offering house / pet sitting services.

We used to live in our own beautiful home in inner-city Sydney, AUSTRALIA until the end of September 2016, when we decided to farewell our professional careers and travel the world, to seek out new adventures, learn about different cultures and experience life after children. We now live a minimalist lifestyle, having sold or given away most of our possessions to charities, friends and family. Travelling with carry-on backpacks only gives us great flexibility and enables us to move from place to place with ease.

We are both animal lovers: Paul used to have two scatty but adorable Dalmatians, Spot and Tammy, whom he puppy-trained as well, and two red-eared turtles named Ernie and Bert. Sandra had a moggy rescue cat with beautiful green eyes called Lluna, who lived a long and happy life. Currently, as we are travelling, we don’t have any pets, sadly. But we try to stay at AirBnBs which do, giving us the chance for plays and cuddles with our hosts’ furry children.

Having owned homes in Australia and New Zealand for a combined 19 years, we know how to look after your home and outdoor space. We pride ourselves on a clean and tidy home. We are able to fix basic common issues around the house (for example, changing light bulbs or fixing a dripping tap) and would be happy to do basic outdoor maintenance (for example, cleaning the pool or general gardening).

Our old house in Sydney, AUSTRALIA before we embarked on our minimalist journey
Our old house in Sydney, AUSTRALIA before we embarked on our minimalist journey

Prior to our lifestyle change, Paul used to work as Product Manager for Dimension Data, a global IT company (see Paul’s LinkedIn profile). Paul loves running long distances (he has completed approximately 30 marathons and countless other races around the world). Originally from New Zealand, he speaks English and basic Spanish. Sandra was born in Germany, and besides her native tongue, she is fluent in English and an intermediate Spanish-speaker. She used to work for Commonwealth Bank, Australia’s largest financial institution, for 11 years, most recently as Management Consultant (see Sandra’s LinkedIn profile). She is into yoga, meditation and swimming. We both love the great outdoors, exploring our locations on hikes and by bicycle. Latin Dance had brought us together, and we still dance occasionally.

Working with us

Our house / pet sitting services are free of charge. We are flexible and tailor any engagement based on your specific needs. To give both you and us peace of mind, we use a checklist and house / pet sitting agreement (available on request):

  • The checklist ensures that all essential questions we and you may have before, during and after the engagement are covered.
  • The house / pet sitting agreement, while not a legally binding contract, sets out the specifics agreed upon for each house / pet sitting engagement.

We would be very happy to arrange a video call (via Skype, Facetime or other means) to speak to you ‘in person’. For further information, please feel free to check out our website.

Our references

We know, as homeowners, you will be most interested in our references. Our references demonstrate that we are reliable and trustworthy people, who will look after your home and pets as if they were our own.

From former house mate, neighbour and real estate agent
From AirBnB hosts
Other references
  • Police check documents (available upon request)

Making contact with us

We are currently travelling around Central America – Mexico (July), Belize (August), Guatemala (August / September), Nicaragua (September) and Costa Rica (September / October). We are planning to return to New Zealand at the end of October 2017 and stay in New Zealand during the summer / autumn months.

We are currently members of (and can be contacted through) the following house sitting websites:

Outside these websites, see our Contact Us page for best ways to communicate directly.

While we are travelling, we usually have Internet connection at our nightly accommodation. We make every attempt to respond to any message or contact within 24 hours.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.